5 Easy Comfort Food Dinners


1
Fried Chicken

Nothing says summer picnic -- or maybe Sunday dinner -- better than fried chicken. Like the previous meals, it's easy to make: Dip the chicken in a liquid (such as buttermilk), sprinkle on a coating and fry. You can use a boxed mix for the chicken coating or make your own by mixing flour or bread or cracker crumbs with seasonings such as garlic powder, salt, pepper and thyme. If you want to be healthy, you can bake the chicken instead of frying it. (No, it's not really "fried" chicken if you bake it, but some recipes can get the taste pretty darn close.)

One of the reasons fried chicken became such a common dish in the United States is that it's an inexpensive meal to prepare, especially if you use cheaper cuts of chicken, such as the thighs and drumsticks. And fried chicken keeps well, so you can fry up a batch ahead of time for this afternoon's picnic or tomorrow's church supper.

Fried chicken is one of the few comfort foods that made its way into the fast food realm, too, which is quite an accomplishment -- and just may solidify its spot as a top comfort food for generations to come.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Amaranth Publishing. "The Official State Food of Texas: Chili." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.amaranthpublishing.com/Chili.htm
  • Brown, Jessica. "What makes us crave comfort foods?" How Stuff Works. (Oct. 25, 2011) https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/crave-comfort-foods.htm
  • CBS. "Classic Comfort Food: Meatloaf." Nov. 6, 2009. (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2009/02/03/earlyshow/living/recipes/main4771636.shtml
  • Chef Point Café. "Comfort Food for Sunday Dinner." (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.chefpointcafe.org/Chicken/comfort-food-for-sunday-dinner.html
  • Conger, Cristen. "Are people eating more comfort food during the recession?" (Oct. 25, 2011) https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/menus/comfort-food-in-the-recession.htm
  • Creators. "One Hour at 350 Degrees." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.creators.com/advice/dear-margo/one-hour-at-350-degrees.html
  • Easy Comfort Foods. "Easy Comfort Foods." (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.easycomfortfoods.com/
  • Eating Well. "Healthy Comfort Food Recipes and Menus." (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes_menus/collections/healthy_comfort_food_recipes
  • Ellis, Kevin. "Comfort food abounds at State Fair." Gaston Gazette. Oct. 14, 2011. (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.gastongazette.com/news/fried-61932-deep-fair.html
  • Food. "Comfort Food Recipes." (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.food.com/recipes/comfort-food
  • Gordon, Marina and Brad Smith. "Comfort Foods." PBS. (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.pbs.org/opb/meaningoffood/food_and_life/comfort_foods/
  • Hopkins, Kate. "What is Comfort Food?" Accidental Hedonist. Feb. 14, 2005. (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.accidentalhedonist.com/index.php?title=what_is_comfort_food&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1
  • I Love Pasta. "FAQs." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.ilovepasta.org/faqs.html
  • Kossman, Rachel. "Jewish comfort food at its best." BostoNite. Oct. 20, 2011. (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.boston.com/thingstodo/nightlife/blogs/bostonite/2011/10/jewish_comfort_food_at_its_bes.html
  • Kummer, Corby. "Pasta." The Atlantic. July 1986. (Nov. 1, 2011) http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1986/07/pasta/6226/
  • Lasker, Zephrin. "What Digital Marketers Can Learn From Cooking Fried Chicken." Forbes. June 17, 2011. (Oct. 27, 2011) http://www.forbes.com/sites/marketshare/2011/06/17/what-digital-marketers-can-learn-from-cooking-fried-chicken/
  • Lochner, Julie L. "Comfort Food." Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. 2003. (Oct. 28, 2011) http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1G2-3403400153.html
  • Martha Stewart. "Meatloaf Recipes." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.marthastewart.com/275098/meatloaf-recipes/@center/854190/comfort-food-recipes
  • McClatchey, Caroline. "How pasta became the world's favourite food." BBC. June 15, 2011. (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-13760559
  • Mac n Cheese. "On Macaroni and Cheese." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://cad.cx/macncheese/preps.html
  • Raven, John. "Stop the Presses -- Gotta Be Chili." Texas Cooking. (Oct. 26, 2011) http://www.texascooking.com/features/oct2000raven.htm
  • Recipe Curio. "Ann Landers World Famous Meatloaf Recipe Clipping." Sept. 24, 2008. (Oct. 26, 2011) http://recipecurio.com/world-famous-meatloaf/
  • Rufus, Anneli. "Explaining the Psychology of Comfort Food." Gilt Taste. June 22, 2011. (Oct. 25, 2011) http://www.gilttaste.com/stories/622-explaining-the-psychology-of-comfort-food
  • What's Cooking America. "Cincinnati Chili - Cincinnati-Style Chili." (Oct. 26, 2011) http://whatscookingamerica.net/Beef/CincinnatiChili.htm

UP NEXT

Pasta's Not Fattening — Really

Pasta's Not Fattening — Really

Pasta may not be as bad for you as people have thought. HowStuffWorks Now explores the health benefits of this Italian staple.


More to Explore