Ultimate Guide to Western Australian Wine Regions


Famous Wines of Western Australia

Western Australia still produces fortified wines, sparkling wines and some dessert wines, but the region is best known for its luscious whites and reds. Whether you fancy red or white, you are sure to find something to satisfy your palate.

Australia's most famous red wine is Shiraz, but Shiraz grapes don't grow well in most of Western Australia's climate. Instead, the region's most notable reds include Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Grenache, Merlot and Pinot Noir [source: Boehmer]. Other reds made in the region are:

  • Barbera
  • Mourverde
  • Sangiovese
  • Tempranillo
  • Zinfandel

[source: Wine Australia]

Chardonnay, Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc and Smellion lead among the whites [source: Boehmer]. Other Western Australian white wines include:

  • Chenin Blanc
  • Colombard
  • Gewurztraminer
  • Marsanne
  • Muscat
  • Pinot Gris/Pinot Grigio
  • Verdelho
  • Viognier

[source: Wine Australia]

Western Australia's many vineyards also serve as popular destinations for tourists. But if you can't imagine taking the long flight to one of Western Australia's wine regions to enjoy a glass of Shiraz, don't fret. Australia is one of the largest wine exporters in the world [source: Wine Australia]. This means you can find Australian wine as close as your corner grocery store. Remember to look for the regional name along with your grape preference when making your selection.

For even more information, visit the links below.

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

Sources

  • A Nice Drop. "Australian Wine Festivals." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.anicedrop.com/australianwinefestivals.php
  • A Nice Drop. "History of Wine Making in Australia." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.anicedrop.com/historyofaustralianwine.php
  • Donaldson-Evans, Catherine. "Australian Slang 'Fair Dinkum' Gets Airline Passenger Into Trouble." Fox News. 08/10/09. (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,292920,00.html
  • Dunn, Cathy and McCreadie, Marion. "The Founders of a Nation: Australia's First Fleet-1788." Ulladulla.info. (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.ulladulla.info/historian/ffstory.html
  • TotalTravel.com.au. "Australian Wine & Wine Regions. (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.totaltravel.com.au/library/traveller/au-wine
  • Tourism Western Australia. "Top 10 Tourism Wineries." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westernaustralia.com/en/Things_to_See_and_Do/Must_See_and_Do/Pages/Top_10_Tourism_Wineries.aspx
  • UFO Encounters UK. "The Tully Saucer Nest." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.ufoencounters.co.uk/the-tully-saucer-nest.html
  • West Australia Wine. "Blackwood Valley." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/blackwoodvalley.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Great Southern." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/greatsouthern.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Manjimup." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/manjimup.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Margaret River." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/margaretriver.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Peel." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/peel.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Pemberton." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/pemberton.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Perth Hills." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/perthhills.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Swan District." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/swandistrict.asp
  • West Australia Wine. "Welcome To The Wines of West Australia." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.westaustraliawine.com/
  • WIAWA. "Role of WIAWA." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.winewa.asn.au/10394.htm
  • Wine Australia. (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.wineaustralia.com/australia/Default.aspx?tabid=302
  • Wine Australia. "GI Introduction." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.wineaustralia.com/australia/Default.aspx?tabid=273
  • Wine Australia. "Red Wine." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.wineaustralia.com/australia/Default.aspx?tabid=190
  • Wine Australia. "White Wine." (Accessed 02/08/09)http://www.wineaustralia.com/australia/Default.aspx?tabid=191

More to Explore