10 Things the Pizza Delivery Guy Doesn't Want You to Know


1
He Remembers You

When you answer the door in your bunny slippers and yesterday's T-shirt, it's nice to think you're anonymous and maybe a little invisible (OK, so wishful thinking), but the fact is the folks who deliver your pizzas will remember if you're rude, take a long time to respond to their knock, or neglect to tip. Stiffing them or making them late for another delivery could mean that next time you'll be shuffled off to the new guy, a rank amateur who'll forget to zip up the insulated carryall and sneeze on the pizza box as he hands it to you.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Beesley, Sandra. "Pizza Profit Plummets | Saving Slices into Industry." Money Blog. 3/2/09. 9/7/10.http://personalmoneystore.com/moneyblog/2009/03/02/pizza-profit-plummets-saving-slices-industry/
  • Franchise Direct. "Trends and Facts About Pizza Franchises." Undated. 9/6/10.http://www.franchisedirect.com/foodfranchises/pizzafranchises/80
  • Hogue, Helene. "Confessions of a Pizza Delivery Driver." 5/11/09.http://www.theorion.com/2.691/confessions-of-a-pizza-delivery-driver-1.14848
  • Homemade Pizza Made Easy. "Did You Know - Pizza Facts." Undated 9/6/10.http://www.homemade-pizza-made-easy.com/pizza-facts.html
  • House, Kelly and David Ovalle. "Suspect Killed While Trying to Rob Pizza Deliverying Cop." Miami Herald. 8/12/10. 9/7/10.http://policelink.monster.com/news/articles/144470-suspect-killed-while-trying-to-rob-pizza-deliverying-cop
  • McGee, Jamie and Joel Schectman. "Super Bowl Sunday Means Insurance Claims as Pizza Drivers Crash." Bloomberg Business Week. 2/5/10. 8/7/10.http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-02-05/super-bowl-sunday-means-insurance-claims-as-pizza-drivers-crash.html
  • Morran, Chris. "4 Myths About Tipping From A Former Pizza Delivery Guy." 3/30/10./7/10.http://consumerist.com/2010/03/4-myths-about-tipping-from-a-former-pizza-delivery-guy.html
  • Ramazzini. "10 of Most Hazardous Jobs." 5/3/08. 9/7/10.http://aflen2008.wordpress.com/2008/05/03/top-10-of-most-hazardous-jobs-at-least-in-the-usa/
  • Roepke, Dave. "Fargo Man Accused of Robbery Says He Wasn't There." Grand Forks Herald. 6/9/10. 9/6/10.http://m.grandforksherald.com/article.cfm?id=164593
  • The Lipstick Chronicles. "Confessions of a Pizza Dude." 5/23/10. 8/6/10.http://thelipstickchronicles.typepad.com/the_lipstick_chronicles/2010/05/confessions-of-a-pizza-dude.html?cid=6a00d8341c57f753ef0134817b1870970c
  • Think Quest. "Pizza Facts." Undated. 9/6/10.http://library.thinkquest.org/J0112790/facts.html
  • TLC. "Favorite Pizza Topping in 10 Countries." Undated. 9/6/10.https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/fresh-ideas/dinner-food-facts/favorite-pizza-toppings-in-10-countries.htm
  • Virgilios Pizzeria. "General Sales and Consumption Statistics." Undated 9/6/10.http://www.virgiliospizzeria.com/funfacts.htm
  • WDay News 6. "Fargo Man Sentenced for Role in Phony Pizza Delivery Home Invasion." 7/26/10. 8/7/10.http://www.wday.com/event/article/id/36416/
  • YUM. "Senior Officers." Undated. 9/7/10.http://www.yum.com/company/srofficers.asp

UP NEXT

Overwhelmed by Confusing Menus? Many Are, Survey Finds

Overwhelmed by Confusing Menus? Many Are, Survey Finds

A survey asked diners what menu terms are most confusing. Learn more about this survey on hard-to-understand menus in this HowStuffWorks Now article.


More to Explore