Prev NEXT  

Advertisement

5 Halloween Treats that Won't Pack on the Pounds

1

Snack Pizza

When your Halloween horde needs more than a veggie platter or a bag of popcorn, make a pizza with mummy appeal. You can craft pizza out of almost anything these days, and opting for low-sodium sauce, and low-fat cheese and lean meat will help balance out some unavoidable candy indulgences later.

 

Advertisement

Halloween is a perfect time to drag out those specialty cookie cutters in the outline of witches, pumpkins and spooky ghosts for shaping single-serving pizza crusts.

 

Try draping diagonal strips of white cheese across mini pizzas leaving an open wedge toward the top for eyes made of olive slices. It'll be a mummy face pizza to remember. For quick crusts, use refrigerated dough, English muffins, pita bread or even French bread slices.

Related Articles

Sources

  • AllRecipes.com. "Roasting Pumpkin Seeds." Undated. 8/30/10.http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Roasting-Pumpkin-Seeds/Detail.aspx
  • Britta.com. "Halloween Recipes." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.britta.com/hw/hwr.html#crunchies
  • Celebrations. "Halloween Treats." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.celebrations.com/halloween-treats
  • Cooksrecipes.com. "Breadstick Bones." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.cooksrecipes.com/holiday/breadstick_bones_recipe.html
  • Cooksrecipes.com. "Roasted Rosemary Pumpkin Seeds." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.cooksrecipes.com/holiday/roasted_rosemary_pumpkin_seeds_recipe.html
  • Disney Family Fun. "Halloween Recipes." Undated. 8/30/10.http://familyfun.go.com/halloween/halloween-recipes/
  • Disney Family Fun. "Melon Brain." Undated. 8/29/10.http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/melon-brain-688972/
  • Disney Family Fun. "Snack-O'-Lantern." Undated 8/30/10.http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/snack-o-lantern-784940/
  • Family Go. "13 Creepy Halloween Treats."http://family.go.com/food/13-creepy-halloween-treats-pg/
  • Gourmet Spot. "Halloween Treats." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.gourmetspot.com/halloweenfeature.htm
  • Halloween Website. "Halloween Trivia and Fun Facts." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.halloween-website.com/trivia.htm
  • Holiday Spot. "Halloween Trivia." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.theholidayspot.com/halloween/trivia.htm
  • Lagasse, Emeril. ""Homemade Halloween Pops." Food Network. Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/homemade-halloween-pops-recipe/index.html
  • Laurentiis, Giada De. "Halloween Popcorn Treats."http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/halloween-popcorn-treats-recipe/index.html
  • Recipe Source. "Halloween Recipes." Undated. 8/31/10.http://www.recipesource.com/holiday/halloween/index2.html
  • TipNut.com. "How To Make Frozen Ice Hands." 9/27/07. 8/31/10.http://halloween.tipnut.com/how-to-make-frozen-ice-hands/

UP NEXT

What Is Candy Corn and How Is It Made?

What Is Candy Corn and How Is It Made?

Every Halloween, bags of triangle-shaped, yellow, orange and white candies fill trick-or-treat bags. HowStuffWorks finds out what's in candy corn.


Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement