Five Foolproof Meals


1
Chili

Although most things about chili are up for debate -- including its origins and how it shou­ld be made -- there's no doubt that it's a dish that has captured the imagination of American cooks from coast to coast. The amount of heat and what types of pepper to use are often disputed, and that's probably the real beauty of chili. It's a dish that inspires deep feelings, with thousands of popular recipes.

With so much chili goodness out there, you're bound to find a style that suits you. Have a vegetarian in your house? Try making a meatless chili, and then serve meat on the side for other members of the family. They can mix the meat in their portion, and everyone gets what he or she wants.

If you're planning on trying your hand at fixing up a pot of chili, keep these things in mind:

  • The heat in chili peppers is mostly in the veins, the white inner part of the fruit, and in the seeds.
  • Wash your hands thoroughly after chopping chili peppers.
  • Different peppers heat different parts of the palate, and using a variety can enhance the taste of chili by creating levels of heat.
  • Designer chili can be interesting and easy to make. Indulge your love for new foods and experiment. Try using a different variety of beans, or add new flavor to your chili with beer, honey, liquid smoke or tomatillos. Look in your cupboards for something pungent, and walk on the wild side. This is the time to see what your spice rack has to offer.
  • Make the most of your dried peppers, cinnamon, allspice, and cumin by grinding them fresh for your chili.
  • Want a chili that will suit the whole family? Reduce the heat by adding the bulk of the hot peppers to only a quarter or a third of the recipe. That way everyone can pick a temperature that suits him or her.

Chili is economical to make, and you can double or triple recipes easily. Freeze the extra, and serve it on the next cold evening. There's nothing like a bowl of chili to make you feel warm all over.

Want to learn more about sure-fire meals that will be a hit at your house? Check the links below for interesting information and recipes.

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

­Sources

  • Chili World. "Measuring Chilli Heat." Undated. 2/4/09. http://www.chilliworld.com/FactFile/Measuring_Chilli_Heat.asp
  • Consumer Reports Blog. " Q&A: Can an oven's slow-cook mode do as good a job as a slow cooker?" 11/19/08.1/27/09. http://blogs.consumerreports.org/home/2008/11/slow-cookers.html?resultPageIndex=1&resultIndex=4&searchTerm=slow%20cookers
  • Consumer Reports. "Soup Sales are a Sign of the Times." 11/22/08.2/1/09. http://blogs.consumerreports.org/home/2008/11/campbells-soup.html?resultPageIndex=1&resultIndex=1&searchTerm=soup
  • Editors of Easy Home Cooking Magazine. "Slow Cooker Questions." Undated. 1/30/09. https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/slow-cooker-questions.htm
  • Editors of Easy Home Cooking Magazine. "Soup Tips." Undated. 1/25/09. https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/soup-tips.htm
  • Food Timeline. "Chili Con Carne." Undated. 2/3/09. http://www.foodtimeline.org/foodmexican.html#chiliconcarne
  • How To Cook Gourmet. "Cooking Meats." Undated. 1/1/09. http://www.how-to-cook-gourmet.com/cookingmeats.html
  • Howstuffworks.com. "Pasta Recipes." Undated. 1/4/09. https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/pasta-recipes-channel.htm
  • Kummer, Corby. "Pasta." The Atlantic. 7/86. 2/1/09. http://www.theatlantic.com/doc/198607/pasta
  • Lipman, Brian, M.D. "When Bad Food Happens." Undated. 1/31/09. http://www.consumerreports.org/health/healthy-living/diet-nutrition/healthy-foods/when-bad-food-happens-9-06/overview/0609_bad-food-happens.htm
  • Macaroni Cheese Recipes."Macaroni and Cheese Gets a Makeover." Undated. 2/1/09. http://www.macaronicheeserecipes.com/Macaroni-and-Cheese-Gets-a-Makeover.htm
  • Macaroni Cheese Recipes. "Macaroni and Cheese has an Interesting History." Undated. 2/1/09. http://www.macaronicheeserecipes.com/Macaroni-and-Cheese-History.htm
  • Marino, Martha MA, RD, CD and Sue Butkus, PhD, RD. "Background: Research on Family Meals." Washington State University. Undated. 2/3/09. http://nutrition.wsu.edu/ebet/background.html
  • National Pasta Association. "Pasta Shapes." Undated. 1/29/09. http://www.ilovepasta.org/shapes.html
  • Online Gourmet Foods. "The History of Spaghetti." Undated. 1/30/09. http://www.online-gourmet-foods.com/history-of-spaghetti.html
  • Phillips, Kyle. "Pasta Shapes Glossary." Undated. 1/26/09. http://italianfood.about.com/od/pastabasics/a/aa032401.htm
  • Stradley, Linda. " History of Chili, Chili Con Carne." What's Cooking America. Undated. 2/3/09. http://whatscookingamerica.net/History/Chili/ChiliHistory.htm
  • The Nibble. "The History of Pasta." Undated. 1/29/09. http://www.thenibble.com/REVIEWS/MAIN/pastas/history-of-pasta.asp
  • Vital Statistics. "Kaft Macaroni and Cheese." Undated. 1/29/09. http://www.vitalstatistics.info/stat2.asp?id=17502&cid=21&scid=674
  • What's Cooking America. " Pasta Hints and Tips - How To Cook Pasta Properly." Undated. 1/29/09. http://whatscookingamerica.net/Pasta_Rice_Main/pasta.htm
  • Wright, Clifford A. "History of Macaroni." Undated. 1/31/09. http://www.cliffordawright.com/caw/food/entries/display.php/id/50/
  • Wright, Clifford A. "Origin of Macaroni and Cheese." Undated. 1/31/09. http://www.cliffordawright.com/caw/food/entries/display.php/topic_id/16/id/105/

UP NEXT

How to Keep Guac From Turning to Goop

How to Keep Guac From Turning to Goop

What's the best way to keep guacamole fresh and green? HowStuffWorks answers the question.


More to Explore