Top 10 Celebrity Chefs


1
Wolfgang Puck
Wolfgang Puck's dishes always deserve two thumbs up!
Wolfgang Puck's dishes always deserve two thumbs up!
Jonathan Leibson/FilmMagic/Getty Images

"Live, Love, Eat!" is the trademarked battle cry of the passionate and renowned Wolfgang Puck, who has achieved celebrity status as chef to the stars. Puck's vast empire is valued at more than $500 million and consists of numerous restaurants and cookbooks, a line of cookware and packaged goods, and a hopping catering business -- which serves as the official caterer of the Academy Awards Governor's Ball.

Puck was one of the first chefs to use a combination of French cooking techniques with locally-grown ingredients and was credited with helping put California cuisine on the map. Throughout his illustrious career, he has consistently followed his simplistic creed of good food, friendly service and a nice environment. Puck has become one of the most successful American immigrants of the 20th century, but while he's known as an able businessman, his preference is to be in the kitchen. In addition to being a regular guest on "Good Morning America" for the past 20 years, Puck has had several of his own TV specials and has made cameo appearances on numerous sitcoms.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Abowitz, Richard. "Interview With Mario Batali." Los Angeles Times. May 31 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://vegasblog.latimes.com/vegas/2007/05/interview_with_.html
  • AskMen. "Nigella Lawson." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.askmen.com/celebs/women/models_150/160_nigella_lawson.html
  • Biography. "Julia Child." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.biography.com/people/julia-child-9246767
  • Bruni, Frank. "Q and A: Tom Colicchio." Diner's Journal. August 10, 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/08/10/q-and-a-tom-colicchio/
  • Carmichael, Evan. "The Makings of a Culinary Master: The Early Years of Wolfgang Puck." Evancarmichael.com. 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.evancarmichael.com/Famous-Entrepreneurs/623/The-Makings-of-a-Culinary-Master-The-Early-Years-of-Wolfgang-Puck.html
  • CNN. "Soul Legend Isaac Hayes Dies." Aug. 10, 2008. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://articles.cnn.com/2008-08-10/entertainment/hayes.obit_1_hot-buttered-soul-black-moses-stax-records?_s=PM:SHOWBIZ
  • Craft Restaurant. "Craft New York." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.craftrestaurant.com/
  • Emeril Lagasse. "Emerilology: Home." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.emerils.com/
  • Food Network. "Nigella Lawson." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.foodnetwork.com/nigella-lawson/bio/index.html
  • Fox Broadcasting Company. "Gordon Ramsay." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.fox.com/hellskitchen/bios/judge/gordon-ramsay/
  • Gudwin, Tracey. "10 Questions for Anthony Bourdain." Time. Oct. 31, 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1680149,00.html
  • "Interview With Chef Tom Colicchio." The Institute of Culinary Education. April 2004. (Dec. 15, 2011)http://www.iceculinary.com/news/article_28.shtml
  • Jacobs, Laura. "Our Lady of the Kitchen." Vanity Fair. Aug. 2009. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2009/08/julia-child200908
  • Kulman, Linda. "Bill Buford Reads from His Kitchen Memoir, 'Heat'." Npr.org, August 21, 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=12911726
  • Lipton, Mike. "Recipe For Living." People.com. August 22, 2005. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.people.com/people/archive/article/0,,20144119,00.html
  • Mario Batali.com "About Mario." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.mariobatali.com/about_mario.cfm
  • McClellan, Marisa. "Tom Colicchio Uses Heimlich Maneuver to Save Cookbook Author's Life." Slashfood.com. January 19, 2009. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.slashfood.com/2009/01/19/tom-colicchio-uses-heimlich-manuver-to-save-cookbook-authors-li/
  • Moskin, Julia. "From Phobia to Fame: A Southern Cook's Memoir." The New York Times. February 28, 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/28/dining/28deen.html?_r=1&fta=y
  • Roberts, Adam. "Meeting Mario." Serious Eats. February 2, 2007. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.seriouseats.com/2007/02/meeting-mario.html
  • Schoenfeld, Bruce. "Emeril's Empire." Cigar Aficionado. November 28, 2005. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.winespectator.com/Cigar/CA_Profiles/People_Profile/0,2540,216,00.html
  • Steintrager, Megan. "Cooking With Chef Mario Batali." Epicurious. 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.epicurious.com/articlesguides/chefsexperts/interviews/mariobatalivideo
  • The Internet Movie Database. http://www.imdb.com/
  • Travel Channel. "Anthony Bourdain No Reservations." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.travelchannel.com/tv-shows/anthony-bourdain/articles/anthony-bourdain-no-reservations
  • Turner, Marcia Layton. "Emeril! Inside the Amazing Success of Today's Most Popular Chef." Wiley Publishing, pp. 1-6. Aug. 26, 2004.
  • Wolfgang Puck. "Meet Wolfgang." 2011. (Dec. 15, 2011). http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/

UP NEXT

How Food Tasters Work

How Food Tasters Work

If you would love to eat ice cream all day, maybe you can put that desire to work as a food taster. Learn more about food tasters at HowStuffWorks.


More to Explore