10 Homemade and Healthy Salad Dressings


1
Garlic Dressing

Garlic is great, not only for fending off vampires and maybe unwanted dinner guests, but also as a key ingredient in this dressing.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup olive oil or vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 clove pressed garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Once you mix everything together, this dressing keeps for up to two weeks, refrigerated in a covered container.

This dressing is packed with nutritional value. Olive oil is one of the MUFAs, or monosaturated fatty acids -- these acids can lower cholesterol and help diabetics control sugar and insulin levels. (Of course, a fat is a fat, so even the good ones need to be consumed in moderation.) Garlic also has antioxidant benefits, and helps in the prevention of blood clots, a problem associated with heart disease and stroke risk. In fact, one clove daily will improve your general health, while two or three help you fight the common cold.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Benefits of Honey. "Amazing Benefits of Honey."(December 28, 2011). http://www.benefits-of-honey.com/
  • Calorie Count. "Whole Buttermilk." (December 30, 2011). http://caloriecount.about.com/calories-purity-dairies-whole-buttermilk-i142894
  • Fat Secret. "Nonfat Buttermilk." (December 26, 2011). http://www.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/generic/buttermilk-fluid-nonfat
  • Gourmet Sleuth: "Grapeseed Oil."(December 26 2011) http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/Dictionary/G/Grapeseed-oil-6339.aspx
  • Gourmet Sleuth: "Stilton Cheese." (December 26, 2011). http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/Dictionary/S/Stilton-cheese-5973.aspx
  • Hensrud, Donald. Mayo Clinic. "Nutrition and Healthy Eating. (December 28, 2011). http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/food-and-nutrition/AN01037
  • Honey Health. "Health Benefits of Honey." (December 28, 2011). http://www.honey-health.com/
  • The Kitchn. "What is Ponzu?" (December 26, 2011). http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/condiments-dressings/what-is-ponzu--096554
  • Lifestyle Lounge. "Health Benefits of Grapeseed Oil." (December 27, 2011). http://lifestyle.iloveindia.com/lounge/health-benefits-of-grape-seed-oil-9568.html
  • Magee, Elaine. "4 Healthy Reasons to Eat a Salad Today." WebMD. June 17, 2008. (December 29, 2011). http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/4-healthy-reasons-eat-salad-today
  • Natural Health Remedies. "What are the Health Benefits of Garlic?" December 5, 2007. (December 28, 2011). http://naturalhealthremedies.org/what-are-the-health-benefits-of-garlic/
  • Nutrient Facts. "Buttermilk Nutrition Facts." (December 26, 2011). http://www.nutrientfacts.com/FoodPages/nutritionfacts/nutritionfacts_buttermilk.htm
  • Pressner, Amanda. Fitness. "10 Surprising Health Benefits of Yogurt." (December 28, 2011). http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/healthy-eating/nutrition/health-benefits-of-yogurt/
  • Self. "Nutrition Facts, Balsamic vinegar." (December 27, 2011). http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/spices-and-herbs/9744/2
  • Self. "Nutrition Facts, Oil, vegetable, grapeseed." (December 27, 2011). http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/fats-and-oils/579/2
  • SixWise. "The Top 8 Unhealthy Things People Love to Ruin their Salads With." (December 29, 2011). http://www.sixwise.com/newsletters/06/08/30/the-top-8-unhealthy-things-people-love-to-ruin-their-salads-with.htm
  • TLC Cooking. "Salad Dressings." (December 26, 2011). https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/salad-dressing-recipes-channel.htm?page=2

UP NEXT

Ketchup: How to Keep the Non-Newtonian Fluid From Messing Up Your Next BBQ

Ketchup: How to Keep the Non-Newtonian Fluid From Messing Up Your Next BBQ

Scientists dive into the physics of getting ketchup out of the bottle without making a mess. Learn more about non-Newtonian fluids at HowStuffWorks.


More to Explore