10 Chinese New Year Food Superstitions


1
Fish

It's traditional to serve a whole fish on New Year's Eve and save half for the next day. The Chinese word for fish is similar to the word for plenty, and saving part of the fish for later consumption insures symbolic abundance for the future. In true Chinese fashion, buy the freshest fish you can. When exploring the options, insist on a fish with clear eyes and a clean, not fishy smell.

As with chickens served during this time, it's important to keep the fish whole, with the tail and head intact. The body of the fish represents family unity or togetherness. If you're serving guests, place the fish on the table facing them as a sign of respect and welcome.

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

Sources

  • 123 Chinese New Year. "Chinese New Year Superstitions." Undated. 1/9/10.http://www.123chinesenewyear.com/chinese-new-year-superstitions.html
  • BBC. "New Year Traditions." 1/29/09. 1/10/10.http://www.bbc.co.uk/london/content/articles/2006/01/10/cny_traditions_feature.shtml
  • Chang, Wonona W. "Chinese New Year." Flavor & Fortune. 1995. 1/8/10.http://web.archive.org/web/20040318001001/www.flavorandfortune.com/dataaccess/article.php?ID=19
  • ChinaTownology. "Chinese New Year." Undated. 1/8/10.http://www.chinatownology.com/chinese_new_year.html
  • Chinese Culture and Superstitions. " Chinese New Year Decorations." Undated. 1/8/10.http://www.educ.uvic.ca/faculty/mroth/438/CHINA/decorations.html
  • Chinese Culture and Superstitions. "Taboos and Superstitions of Chinese New Year." Undated. 1/8/10.http://www.educ.uvic.ca/faculty/mroth/438/CHINA/taboos.html
  • Chinese Lessons. "Chinese Culture: New Years." Undated. 1/10/10.http://www.chinese-lessons.com/cantonese/culture1NewYears.htm#gift
  • Davidson, Alan. "The Oxford Companion to Food." Oxford University Press. 1999.
  • English Café. "Taboos and Superstitions of Chinese New Year." 1/31/09. 1/11/10.http://www.englishcafe.com/blog/taboos-and-superstitions-chinese-new-year-12173
  • Family Culture. "About the Chinese New Year." Undated. 1/12/10.http://www.familyculture.com/holidays/chinese_new_year.htm
  • Food Timeline. "New Year Food Traditions." Undated. 1/11/10.http://www.foodtimeline.org/newyear.html#chinese
  • Formaro, Amanda. "Salt Dough Oranges." Family Corner. Undated. 1/13/10.http://www.familycorner.com/homegarden/crafts/salt_dough_oranges.shtml
  • Hays, Jeffrey. "Symbols and Lucky Numbers in China." Facts and Details.2008. 1/12/10.http://factsanddetails.com/china.php?itemid=99&catid=3
  • Karp, David. "Lychees and Their Kin." 1997.1/9/10.http://www.flavorandfortune.com/dataaccess/article.php?ID=57
  • Kwant, Cor. "Jai, a Delight in the Chinese New Year." Ginkgo Pages. 1/26/06 1/14/10.http://ginkgopages.blogspot.com/2006/01/jai-delight-in-chinese-new-year.html
  • Miller, Gloria Bley. "The Thousand Recipe Chinese Cookbook." Simon & Schuster. 1994.
  • Mok, Charmaine. "Chinese New Year." BBC. Undated. 1/10/10.http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/news_and_events/events_chinesenewyear.shtml
  • Moriarity, Erin. "Chinese New Year Food Symbols." Flavor & Fortune. 2002. 1/12/10.http://www.flavorandfortune.com/dataaccess/article.php?ID=384
  • Newman, Jacqueline M. "Chinese Food Symbolism." 1996. 1/9/10.http://www.flavorandfortune.com/dataaccess/article.php?ID=27
  • Steamy Kitchen. "Chinese New Year Food Superstitions." 2/5/08. 1/11/10.http://steamykitchen.com/270-chinese-new-year-food-superstitions.html

UP NEXT

Did Quinoa Get Too Popular for Its Own Good?

Did Quinoa Get Too Popular for Its Own Good?

HowStuffWorks looks at the popularity of quinoa and how it affected farmers who grew it in South America.


More to Explore