How Cakes Work


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Cakes Work

In these uncertain times, at least most of us can agree that a celebration of any type isn't complete without a cake. My personal favorite is a highly unattractive, yet delicious Southern yellow cake that I dubbed "chocolate cement cake" as a child because the fudge icing hardens to the point that you can actually knock on it without doing damage. Yum!

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Avey, Tori. "American Cakes Throughout History." PBS. July 8, 2015 (May 11, 2017) http://www.pbs.org/food/the-history-kitchen/american-cakes-history/
  • Baking Industry Research Trust. "Ingredients and Their Uses." 2017 (May 22, 2017) http://www.bakeinfo.co.nz/School-Zone/Baking-Basics/Ingredients-and-their-uses
  • Berry, Mary. "Mary Berry's Perfect Victoria Sandwich." BBC. 2017 (May 7, 2017) http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/mary_berrys_perfect_34317
  • Coffman, Rich. "The History of the Birthday Cake." Hankering for History. Jan. 16, 2013 (May 21, 2017) http://hankeringforhistory.com/the-history-of-the-birthday-cake/
  • CraftBaking. "Mixing Methods." (June 23, 2017) http://www.craftybaking.com/howto/mixing-method-basics
  • Davidson, Alan. "The History of Cakes." Penguins History of Food (May 8, 2017) http://www.devlaming.co.za/the-history-of-cakes
  • Daily Express. "Victoria Sponge, chocolate or carrot? Britain's favourite cake REVEALED." April 29, 2016 (May 8, 2017) http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/665594/Britain-favourite-cake-revealed-Victoria-sponge-chocolate-carrot-lemon-drizzle-fruit
  • Field, Jenni. "Ingredient Function: How do Eggs Function in Baking?" Pastry Chef Online. 2017 (May 8, 2017) https://pastrychefonline.com/2015/03/14/how-do-eggs-function-in-baking/#
  • Horn, Jason. "10 Secrets to Baking Perfect Cakes." Cooking Light. June 1, 2010 (June 18, 2017) http://www.cookinglight.com/cooking-101/techniques/cake-baking/view-all
  • Huff, Tessa. "Baking School Day 6: All About Butter and Baking." The Kitchn. Oct. 12, 2015 (June 18, 2017) http://www.thekitchn.com/baking-school-day-6-all-about-butter-and-baking-222484
  • Hunt, Patricia. "The History of Icing and Frosting." Leaf TV. 2017 (May 21, 2017) https://www.leaf.tv/articles/the-history-of-icing-frosting/
  • The Foods of England. "Marchpane Cakes." 2016 (May 21, 2017) http://www.foodsofengland.co.uk/marchpane.htm
  • Lauterbach, Sharon and Julie A. Albrecht. "Functions of Baking Ingredients." Digital Commons @University of Nebraska. Jan. 1, 1994 (June 18, 2017) http://digitalcommons.unl.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1412&context=extensionhist
  • Li, Zoe and Maggie Hiufu Wong. "Cakes of the world: Tiramisu, baklava, cheesecake and more national treats." CNN. April 2, 2017 (May 11, 2017) http://www.cnn.com/2016/08/22/travel/world-national-cakes/
  • Lovejoy, Rachel. "What are the functions of flour in baking?" The Bump. 2017 (May 8, 2017) http://living.thebump.com/functions-flour-baking-8798.html
  • Malgieri, Nick. "Cakes: Recipes and Tips." Epicurious. 2017 (May 8, 2017) http://www.epicurious.com/archive/howtocook/primers/cakestypes
  • Marks, Gil. "American Cakes – The History of Strawberry Shortcake." Tori Avey. 2017 (May 11, 2017) http://toriavey.com/toris-kitchen/2013/05/history-strawberry-shortcake-recipe/
  • Martyris, Nina. "Make America Bake Again: A History of Cake in the U.S." NPR. Nov. 7, 2016 (May 8, 2017) http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2016/11/07/501032393/make-america-bake-again-a-history-of-cake-in-the-u-s
  • Masibay, Kimberly Y. "What Every Baker Needs to Know About Sugar." Fine Cooking. 2017 (May 8, 2017) http://www.finecooking.com/articles/how-sugar-affects-baking.aspx
  • Naylor, Sharon. "Wedding Cake Prices: 20 Ways to Save Big." Huffington Post. June 12, 2013 (May 8, 2017) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/12/wedding-cake-prices_n_3423921.html
  • The Nibble. "A Brief History of Cakes." 2017 (May 8, 2017) http://www.thenibble.com/reviews/main/cookies/cakes/glossary.asp
  • Nowak, Claire. "Here's why you should thank the ancient Greeks for your birthday cake." Reader's Digest. 2017 (May 21, 2017) http://www.rd.com/culture/origin-of-birthday-cake/
  • Park, Michael Y. "A History of the Cake Mix, the Invention That Redefined 'Baking.'" Bon Appetit. Sept. 26, 2013 (June 18, 2017) http://www.bonappetit.com/entertaining-style/pop-culture/article/cake-mix-history
  • Sowder, Amy. "What's the difference between banana bread and banana cake?" Chowhound. April 30, 2016 (June 18, 2017) https://www.chowhound.com/food-news/176143/whats-the-difference-between-banana-bread-and-banana-cake/
  • Thomson, Julie R. "Cake Baking Mistakes Everyone Needs to Stop Making." Huffington Post. June 6, 2012 (June 18, 2017) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/06/30/common-cake-baking-mistakes_n_1571776.html
  • Woods, Judith. "Please don't kill off the wedding cake!" The Telegraph. June 9, 2015 (May 8, 2017) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/11659503/Please-dont-kill-off-the-wedding-cake.html

More to Explore